Hello world!

Posted: April 7, 2011 in Miscellaneous
Tags:

Greetings minions of science,

Let’s begin by telling you a little bit about ourselves and our ideas for this blog. We are a group of Melbourne Uni Students who have been forced together (under pain of death) for a group project for the subject, “Communicating Science and Technology”. Our idea for this BLOG is to provide a first-hand account of what studying science at a university level is like. We’ve all experienced how hard it can be to find information about what science is like. Sure, you’ve seen and flicked through all the pamphlets. You’ve read how, at the end of the degree, you’ll be able to “synthesise information from a range of sources, evaluate this, and add new ideas to their existing knowledge” or “have a broad knowledge of science across a range of disciplines, with a higher level of understanding in one or more of these disciplines” — but what does it all mean?

Well, we’re here to save the day!

… or perhaps to at least answer some of the niggling questions you’ve had about what tertiary science is really like.

Each of us comes from a different speciality, ranging from Mechanical Engineering, Biotechnology, Zoology and Human-Structure & Function. We’re undergrads, we’re post-grads, we’re exchange students. Here’s a little about who we are as individuals:

Josefin Alderberth (Masters Exchange-student from Sweden Biotechnology):

Hello Aussis! My name is Josefin and I’m an exchange student here at Melbourne Uni this semester. My home university is located in the southern part of Sweden in a small city called Lund. I’ve done an undergraduate chemical engineering course at Lund University and I’m now studying postgraduate subjects in biotechnology here in Melbourne as part of my Masters. Biotechnology is a very interesting field, which combines medicine, technology and biology. It involves the use of living organisms or parts of organisms such as cells, enzymes or DNA. It can be applied in four major areas – medical, agriculture, non food use of crops (e.g., biofuels) and environmental uses. There are great opportunities for students at Melbourne University to go oversease since the uni is a member of Universitas 21 – a network of 23 leading research-intensive universities. Its an experience I definitely recommend!

Rhiannon Michell (Master of Zoology):

I began my undergraduate degree at The University of Melbourne in 2006, before the Melbourne Model existed. Old school, yo. I studied a Bachelor of Science, co-majoring in Zoology and History and Philosophy of Science. I’ve always had a great love of animals and conservation, so Zoology was an obvious choice for me. But I also believe that in order to do science, it is important to know where you’ve come from. Hence, I developed a love for studying the history of, and philosophising about the concepts and events surrounding, science. These days I am studying a Masters degree at the same University, following my love of wildlife. My research project is based in the Strathbogie Ranges and involves looking at the way in which possums use nest boxes. The results from which will impact the way we use nest boxes for conservation.

Mathew Miles (Undergraduate Mechanical Systems– Mechanical  Engineering):

As I started at The University of Melbourne in 2009 I went straight into the new ‘Melbourne Model’ for the Bachelor of Science and took the engineering pathway from there. After my undergraduate course I plan to undertake the Masters of Mechanical Systems, hopefully involving some degree of aerodynamics and jet propulsion into my final year project. For those that are interested in some field of engineering I highly recommend going to all the Uni open days and graduate fairs, just to get an idea of some of the things that engineering students are working on, and where your future studies may take you.

Kimberley Humphreys (Undergraduate Science – Human Structure and Function):

Hi guys! I’m Kimmy and I’m the Human Structure and Function major. It involves looking at the anatomy of the human body and how it works and reacts to different situations. I’ve always wanted to study medicine but didn’t get the marks for it straight out of high school. Only a minor hiccup I discovered as there are many pathways into graduate medicine (phew!). After being accepted into the Melbourne model I began my first year of the Bachelor of Science. Two years later and I still love every minute of it. I got into science because there is a wealth of knowledge involved and I want to learn as much as possible, but beyond that, science is an area of endless possibilities and I’ve got to torture my classmates with various experiments. So please ask as questions as we are here as your source of information to what studying science is really like and where it can take you. In the meantime, we’ll be updating you on our experiences from VCE do’s and don’ts to cadaver dissection.

Leave a Reply

